Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

Part 2 – Voice And Singing In Playback Series: What About Joy?

Virtual Event Virtual Event

May 17 @ 7:00 pm 9:00 pm EDT

$10.00 – $30.00 sliding scale (for PNA Members)
laughing dolphin

Does the idea of singing as a Playback actor or musician fill you with curiosity and excitement, or anxiety and dread? When you hear compelling vocal offers from the music table or from the stage, do you think, “I want to do that!” or “How did they do that?” or “I could never do that!” Yes, you can!

This workshop is about connecting with the joy of using your voice to make musical offers. Listening for image, metaphor, feelings, the layers and the heart of the story, we will engage in simple exercises that will help you experience joy while building confidence and courage, no matter where you are on the continuum.

The singing voice can give you direct access to the creative source if you know how to listen for it. Every voice has its own unique expression and can be a powerful contribution in Playback, regardless of musical training. You do not need to identify as a singer to participate. Come with an open heart and curious mind, and ready to be surprised.

This workshop is part of a 3-part series of workshops happening on the third Tuesdays of April, May, and June (4/19, 5/17, 6/21). You are welcome to participate in 1, 2, or all 3 workshops.

All sessions will take place from 4-6pm PDT / 5-7pm MDT / 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT (11pm-1am UTC).


Mary Elizabeth Wheeler (she/her/hers) True Story Theater

Mary Elizabeth Wheeler is a Playback Theatre actor, musician and conductor, and member of True Story Theater for 17 years. She has taught Authentic Voice, a deep listening and embodied presence practice, for 35 years. Mary Elizabeth believes in the voice as a source of joy, creativity, learning and growth, and a powerful transformative force in Playback.

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking “Get Tickets” will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available